The Mikan Drill

To love the game is the greatest of all…

1st Half analysis: FSU smothering Jared Sullinger

with 8 comments

It is clear FSU is focusing on not letting Jared Sullinger beat them in the paint. So far, he is only 1-4 from the field, with several of his shots coming from offensive rebounds, not from the flow of the offense.

FSU is doubling Sullinger every time he catches the ball and often shadowing a man toward him before he catches the ball. This is making it tough for Sullinger to get open and be dangerous when he does catch the ball.

In the first clip, we see three FSU players with an eye on Sullinger when he catches the ball. The baseline is cut off and Chris Singleton is taking away the middle.

FSU brings the hard double and forces Sullinger to kick out to Jon Diebler. Singleton closes out on Diebler, taking away the three point shot.

Diebler re-enters the pass to Sullinger but he is again double teamed. He draws the foul but FSU is happy with this possession because Sullinger does not get an easy dunk or layup.

Here is a second example of how FSU is making it difficult for Sullinger in the post. Look at how Singleton is shading off of Thomas, with almost all his attention on Sullinger.

When Sullinger does get the ball in the post, he gets a double team from the weakside and a dig from Singleton. Singleton is not worried about Thomas from the perimeter, so he is free to hound Sullinger.

Sullinger forces a tough shot here and FSU is ecstatic. There are a few players open but Sullinger has not shown this game that he is able to see the court and pass out of the post. Great defensive possession by FSU.

Written by Joshua Riddell

December 1, 2010 at 1:30 am

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for sharing your info. I truly appreciate your efforts and I
    will be waiting for your further post thank you once again.

    misspelled ebay

    April 25, 2013 at 2:42 am

  2. Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all
    of us you actually understand what you are speaking
    about! Bookmarked. Kindly additionally visit my website =).
    We will have a link change contract among us

    Diana

    April 26, 2013 at 12:21 pm

  3. An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a coworker who was doing a little homework on this. And he in fact bought me dinner because I discovered it for him… lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending some time to talk about this subject here on your blog.

    Roland

    April 29, 2013 at 4:41 pm

  4. Hello there, You have done a great job. I’ll definitely digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I’m confident they
    will be benefited from this site.

    Lupe

    May 8, 2013 at 10:20 pm

  5. Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back and help others like you helped me.

    Francis

    May 21, 2013 at 2:53 am

  6. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get several
    e-mails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove people from that service?
    Many thanks!

  7. Pretty! This has been an extremely wonderful post. Many thanks
    for supplying this information.

  8. I really Believe post, “1st Half analysis: FSU smothering Jared
    Sullinger | The Mikan Drill” was really good! I actuallycannot see eye to eye together with you
    even more! Finally looks like I reallylocated a site definitely worth reading through.
    Thanks for your time, Victorina

    Marlon

    January 25, 2014 at 7:47 pm


Leave a Reply

